2007-07-05 / Schools

Three new principals named in Freehold Regional district

Three of the Freehold Regional High School District's six schools will welcome new principals during the 2007-08 school year.

FRHSD public information officer Ilse Whisner confirmed this week that new administrators have been hired to assume the top posts at Colts Neck High School, Manalapan High School and Marlboro High School.

Superintendent of Schools James Wasser was not available for comment; he is attending an academic conference overseas.

At Colts Neck, Keith Land, a Burling-ton Township High School vice principal, will take over for Chris Steffner, who chose not to renew her contract with the district.

Steffner had replaced R. Wayne McChesney as Colts Neck's principal in August 2006 after McChesney retired following a long career in the FRHSD, including many years at Manalapan High School.

A few months into the 2007-08 school year, Jeff Simon, the Union Beach Memorial Elementary School principal and the former Middletown North High School principal, will become Manalapan's top administrator.

Simon will replace Anthony Procopio who will retire - for the second time - in December.

Procopio's initial retirement came in December 2004 when he stepped down as principal of Freehold Township High School after a long tenure in the district, including many years at Marlboro High School.

In February 2006, Procopio came out of retirement to fill Manalapan's vacant principal position after Terri Grey retired.

Finally, at Marlboro, Gerald North will take over for Jim Mullevey, who retired at the end of the 2006-07 school year.

Mullevey had been Marlboro's principal since 1996.

North's resignation as the superinten-dent of schools in Plumsted Township was made official at a June 27 Plumsted Board of Education meeting. Before his two-year stint as the district's superintendent, North was the principal of New Egypt High School, Plumsted.

Freehold High School Principal Linda Jewell, Freehold Township High School Principal Elizabeth Higley and Howell High School Principal Zina Duerbig will return to those positions for the 2007-08 school year.

The FRHSD is made up of eight sending municipalities and operates six high schools. The district's present total enrollment is 11,611 students.

- Larry Hlavenka Jr.

Return to top